The Glamorgan One-Act Play Festival 2013



Want to know what happened in the 2012 Festival?

Photos from the awards night are available on the
2012 page.

Want to know about earlier festivals?


poster for 2013 play festival


The 2013 One-Act Play Festival was held:

Dates: Thursday 25th- Saturday 27th April 2013 at 7pm.

Venue: The Sony Theatre, Bridgend College, Cowbridge Road, Bridgend   CF31 3DF

Tickets cost £8 per night (£6 for concessions), but a special 3-night Festival Ticket was available at £20 (£15 concessions).

The adjudicator was Jan Palmer-Sayer GoDA.


Full details of the winners are listed below. And photos of the awards are also available.


Wales Final: Theatr Hafren, Newtown, 31st May & 1st June 2013

Adjudicator: Chris Jaeger GoDA

The Wales One-Act finalists this year were

Friday 31st May 2013

1. Phoenix Theatre Company (Clwyd) Festival Nightmare
2.Tredegar Thespians (Gwent) After I'm Gone
3. Solva Amateur Dramatic Society (Pembrokeshire) A Little Box of Oblivion

Saturday 1th June

1. Players'  Theatre (Glamorgan) A Universal Sorrow
2. Saundersfoot Footlights (Pembrokeshire) A Night Under Canvas
3. Cardiff Players (Glamorgan) Albert 

And the winners were Solva Amateur Dramatic Society (Pembrokeshire) for A Little Box of Oblivion.

Cardiff Players won the award for Best Set for Albert, and Graham J Evans again won the Playwriting award for the best new play in the regional rounds for A Universal Sorrow.

Once again Glamorgan was very well represented and despite not going through to the British Final, both productions have a great deal to feel proud of.

Full details of the winners are available on the Drama Association of Wales website. (clicking this link will open a separate window)


Winners at the 2013 Glamorgan Festival were:

name of award




The David Davies Memorial Trophy for the adult production attaining the highest marks in the competition

The Company Albert Cardiff Players
Bob McTurk Memorial Trophy for Best Director Gareth Gibbs A Universal Sorrow The Players' Theatre

Best Individual Performance Award

Chris Powell Station The Unknown OUTCasts

The Bea Wells Memorial Trophy for the Best Comedy Performance (shared trophy in 2013)

Peter Stickler & Christopher Johnson Albert Cardiff Players

Youth Trophy the Youth production attaining the highest marks in the competition - donated by Mari Major

The Company Making the Grade The Unknown Theatre Company

The Jean Howell Trophy Adjudicator's Award

Ieuan Briers for Community Spirit A Case of Good Intentions/A Year in the Death of Eddie Jester Bridgend Castle Players

The running order for the 2013 Festival was:

Company Play Playwright
Thursday 25th April 2013
The Unknown Theatre Company (Cardiff) Making the Grade Peter Hartley
Bridgend Castle Players A Year In The Death Of Eddie Jester (1st Act) T. Gregory Argall
Friday 26th April 2013
Bridgend Castle Players A Case Of Good Intentions Peter Stallard
Cardiff YMCA Players Albert Richard Harris
Saturday 27th April 2013
Players' Theatre (Gelligaer) A Universal Sorrow a new play by Graham J Evans
The Unknown OUTCasts (Cardiff) Station Emily Steel

Full details of the winners of the next rounds will be listed below when available.



British Final: Theatre (Host country Northern Ireland), July 2013

Millennium Forum Theatre, Londonderry/Derry 5th & 6th July.

Adjudicator: Tom Doherty 


top of page  





Taking local theatre to the next stage...



home page glammies page one-acts page members' page join us contact us
various photos from GDL productions
gdl logo               


Updated 06.01.2014

©Glamorgan Drama