The Glamorgan One-Act Play Festival 2016


Want to know what happened in the 2015 Festival?

Want to know about earlier festivals?


flyer for the 2016 One-Act Play FestivalThe 2016 One-Act Play Festival was held:

Dates: Wednesday 27th - Friday 29th April starting at 7.30pm each night.

And Saturday 30th April 2016 starting at 7pm.

Venue: The Welfare Ystradgynlais, Brecon Road, Ystradgynlais, Swansea SA9 1JJ

Festival rules, entry forms and other information were available through our 2016 Festivals Resources page.

Consultation day at the theatre was on: Saturday 2 April.

Tickets cost £7.50 per night (£6.50 for concessions), but a special 4-night Festival Ticket was available at £25 (£22 concessions).

Tickets were available from,
also by calling 01639 843163. You could also email

We were pleased to welcome as our adjudicator Christopher Baglin, GoDA Assoc.

Details for booking for the Wales Final Festival, at Theatre Colwyn, Colwyn Bay on 3 & 4 June, were available from the Drama Association of Wales website.

Winners of the later rounds of the other festivals are posted further down the page.


The running order for the 2016 Festival was:

Company Play Playwright
Wednesday 27 April 2016
Cardiff Players The Gorky Train Phil Nash
Bridgend Castle Players One Careful Owner H. Connolly
Cardiff Players The Extraordinary Revelations of Orca the Goldfish David Tristram
Thursday 28 April 2016
The Unknown Theatre Company At First Sight Barney Norris
Glantawe Theatre Company All Singing, All Dancing Graham J. Evans
Players' Theatre A Night Out Frank Vickery
Friday 29 April 2016
Glantawe Theatre Company Dragon Trouble D.M. Larson
The Unknown OUTCasts Contractions Mike Bartlett
Telstars Theatre Company Tryst Colin Crowther
Saturday 30 April 2016
Players' Theatre New Place and Time Richard Macaulay
Glantawe Theatre Company Independance Dai Robert Gould
The Unknown OUTCasts Not Talking Mike Bartlett

Winners at the 2016 Glamorgan Festival :

name of award




The David Davies Memorial Trophy for the adult production attaining the highest marks in the competition

The Company A Night Out Players' Theatre
Bob McTurk Memorial Trophy for Best Director Lon David Not Talking The Unknown OUTCasts

Best Individual Performance Award

Stanley Evelyn Tryst Telstars Theatre Company

The Bea Wells Memorial Trophy for the Best Comedy Performance

Lee Bentley Independence Dai Glantawe Theatre Company

Youth Trophy for the best performance by an actor aged 25 or under- donated by Mari Major

Susan Monkton Contractions The Unknown OUTCasts
The Jean Howell Trophy Adjudicator's Award The Company Dragon Trouble Glantawe Theatre Company

The GDL Lifetime Award

Winston Jenkins - Glantawe Theatre Company

Four of these productions
: A Night Out, Contractions, Not Talking and Tryst, were selected to perform at the Wales Final Festival in Colwyn Bay on 3 & 4 June, so there was more to come...!

Full details of the winners of the next rounds are listed below.


Wales Final Festival of One-Act Plays: Friday 3rd and Saturday 4th June 2016
Theatr Colwyn, Colwyn Bay

Adjudicator: Jennifer Scott Reid, GoDA

The Wales One-Act finalists were:

Friday 3rd June 2016

1. Contractions by Mike Bartlett The Unknown OUTCasts - Glamorgan
2. Tryst by Colin Crowther Telstars Theatre Company - Glamorgan
3. Suspension of Disbelief by Vic Mills Blackwood Little Theatre - Gwent

Saturday 4th June 2016

1. The Actor's Nightmare by Christopher Durang Phoenix Players - Conwy
2. Not Talking by Mike Bartlett The Unknown OUTCasts - Glamorgan
3. A Night Out by Frank Vickery Players' Theatre - Glamorgan

And the winners were ...

The Maynard Cup - Best Overall Production (Festival winner)
Winner: Contractions by Mike Bartlett - The Unknown OUTCasts - Glamorgan

The Elf Oil Trophy - Best Individual Performance
Winner: Grant Cawley as Mark in Not Talking by Mike Bartlett - The Unknown OUTCasts

The Bernleigh Award - Best Presentation
Winner: A Night Out by Frank Vickery - Players' Theatre - Glamorgan
The Robert Fowler Unsung Hero Award - for work backstage
Winner: the resident technical crew at Theatr Colwyn

The rest of the awards from the festival:

The Bob McTurk Bursary for the Most Promising Actor aged 18-25 in the regional rounds
Winner: Susan Monkton as Manager in Contractions by Mike Bartlett - The Unknown OUTCasts

The Crawshay Cup
Best Original Script receiving its premiere in the Regional Area Rounds winner: Blackout by Charlotte Drane

The winner of The DAW Lifetime Achievement Award, in Honour of Angela Tidswelll was Leigh Smailes, Pembrokshire.


British Final Festival of One-Act Plays: Friday 1st & Saturday 2nd July 2016
Sherman Theatre, Sengenhydd Road, Cardiff

The four finalists at the British Final festival of One-Act Plays will be

Scotland - A Bench at the Edge by Luigi Jannuzzi performed by Studio Theatre Group (Aberdeen)

England - Interior Designs by Jimmie Chinn performed by St. Albans Players (Bristol)

Wales - Contractions by Mike Bartlett performed by The Unknown OUTCasts (Cardiff)

Northern Ireland - The Martha Syndrome by Scott Marshall performed by Rosemary Drama Group

and the winner ... Wales! For the first time since 1994 - coincidentally the last time the British Final was held in Cardiff, also at the Sherman Theatre - Wales took the trophy. And a Cardiff company, in Cardiff. But it was the night that Wales played (and won) in the 2016 Euros quarter finals, so our tremendous victory got a bit overlooked.

Still, we know we won it!

Lots of photos from the event/weekend, by kind permission of the photographer Tony Flisch, are available on Flickr.

Adjudicator was Jan Palmer Sayer, GoDA.


Winners of the Glamorgan One-Act Play Festival will be eligible for consideration for the annual British All-Winners Festival organised by National Drama Festivals Association (NDFA). The 2016 Festival will be held in Hertford 25-31 July 2016.

top of page  





Taking local theatre to the next stage...



home page glammies page one-acts page members' page join us contact us
various photos from GDL productions
gdl logo               


Updated 20 January

©Glamorgan Drama








find us on facebook   find us on twitte